Rhubarb

Last summer we were so fortunate to receive a 5 year old rhubarb plant! My parent’s neighbors had recently started raising chickens, and the rhubarb plant was smack dab in the middle of their chicken coop area. Supposedly rhubarb is poisonous, although I know multiple people that have chickens and they feast on their rhubarb plants, with no casualties yet… so who knows.

We split the plant into 3 separate plants and stuck it in the garden. I didn’t cut too many stalks off last year, as I wanted to make sure the plants thrived this year, and so far things are looking good!

Rhubarb

 

I feel like my Pinterest account has been covered in rhubarb pins lately; I can’t help it, I’m obsessed! I thought I would share a few of the things I’m most excited to make (and one I already did), as rhubarb is available everywhere right now! If you’ve never made anything with it, pick some up and give it a shot. It’s delicious, especially when combined with strawberries or raspberries!

We’ll start with the one I’ve made:

Strawberry Rhubarb Margaritas: I actually made a batch of these for Mother’s Day, and wow… I’m pretty sure I could’ve drank the entire batch in one sitting. These were definitely a sweeter margarita; next time I will probably add a little extra lime, as I like a little tartness with my drinks. I also had some of the strawberry rhubarb simple syrup with seltzer water, and it made for a delicious non-alcoholic drink!

Strawberry Rhubarb Sugar Cookie Crisp: This may be the one I’m most excited to make! I mean who doesn’t love sugar cookies? Turning it into a sort of crisp dessert is just genius!

Rhubarb Floats: Our house is definitely a dessert house. I blame it on my Grandma, who never passes up an opportunity for dessert after a meal, and now I don’t either! Floats are such an easy option; I can’t wait to try these out!

Rhubarb Fizz Cocktail: Another drink that could also provide a syrup to mix with something non-alcoholic if needed. We are a gin and tonic household, so cocktails that contain gin always catch my eye, as this one does.

Roasted Rhubarb Jam:  Considering almost all vegetables are better roasted, I have no doubt roasting rhubarb before making a jam would be delicious! I plan to make a batch of this sometimes this weekend to try over some waffles.

 

Hopefully some of these links will inspire you to try out some new rhubarb recipes as well!

 

xo

Leave a Reply

