Herringbone quilt

Just some quick pictures and links to share today (with food to come tomorrow, I hope).

One of my close friends is due with her first child, a girl, in August, and I was so excited to make a quilt for her! I knew they were doing bright colors in the nursery, with a tropical feel, but as soon as I saw this elephant fabric, I knew I had to use it! I’m also (still) obsessed with chevron and any patterns like it, so loved the idea of doing a bold and graphic herringbone print. While cutesty pink stuff is fun, I wanted something that wouldn’t get set aside once she wasn’t a baby anymore.

IMG_3185

 

I just love how it turned out. This was one of the easier quilts I’ve done, although that is probably due to not being a perfectionist. My binding is far from perfect, and my lines are anything but straight, but my favorite things about quilts is them looking old and wrinkly, which gives them an imperfectly perfect look! Here are the instructions I mostly followed:

Binding

Herringbone pattern

This could be a little tricky if you’ve never quilted before, but my first quilt was a pinwheel quilt that turned out to be really difficult, so I’m not one to talk. I have absolutely fallen in love with quilting and encourage anyone even remotely interested to try it out. There’s nothing like curling up on the couch with a quilt that you made from start to finish!

 

xo

One thought on “Herringbone quilt

  1. Beautiful quilt for a baby girl and when she’s older too! I’m drawn to chevron quilts myself, even after deciding to make something else I end up making another one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

