Strawberry Margaritas

Sometimes I forget how much I love freshly made margaritas. I am not a fan of ones made with mixes, but when you use freshly squeezed juices and fruits, they are infinitely better!

My favorite recipes have been from the blog Confections of a Foodie Bride. She uses a recipe for homemade margarita mix (water, sugar, and freshly squeezed lime juice), and must have at least 20 adaptations on her site. All of which are amazing. (Here is my favorite of all time.)

Strawberry Marg Final

Recently a recipe was posted for strawberry margaritas; I knew I had some frozen strawberries from last summer, so thought this would be an easy drink to make after work one night.

Not only was it easy to make, it was even easier to drink! I had my first one down in no more than 5 minutes, and quickly mixed up another. I tend to go light on the liquor in my drinks, as I would rather have 2 of them and not have consumed a cup of alcohol (and hello, it was a weeknight).

One confession I have is that I buy the absolute bottom shelf tequila for margaritas. I am cheap about a lot of things, and this isn’t any different, but if I’m mixing in fruit, sugar, etc, I just can’t bring myself to splurge. Really the only one I will splurge on is gin, as we love, love gin and tonics during the summer, and you can definitely taste the gin. 🙂

Mix these up this weekend, you’ll be happy you did!

Strawberry Margaritas (makes 2)

Homemade Margarita Mix

  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 c water
  • 1 1/4 c fresh squeezed lime juice (10-12 limes)

Mix water and sugar in a saucepan, bring to a simmer until sugar is dissolved, then stir in lime juice and refrigerate. (Another honesty moment: I usually mix my drinks while this is still warm, I can’t wait! It just requires more ice…)

Okay, now for the actual drink!

  • 3 oz tequila
  • 2 oz triple sec (original recipe calls for 3 oz orange juice; I didn’t have any, but I”m sure it’s delicious that way!)
  • 4 oz strawberry puree (from fresh or frozen strawberries)
  • 4 oz homemade margarita mix

Stir the ingredients together and pour over ice!

Source: Slightly adapted from Confections of a Foodie Bride, originally from Tide & Thyme
xo
2 thoughts on “Strawberry Margaritas

  1. I’m glad you liked them! They were *so* easy to drink and perfect for this beautiful weather. My budget for tequila has grown considerably smaller over the last year. When mixed in margaritas, nobody notices the difference between the pricey stuff and the Sauza that comes in a plastic bottle.

Leave a Reply

