Simple Falafel

When I started this dinner, I had big plans to take some pictures and then share the recipe. Then I made a margarita. Then I made another. I do have pictures of my condiments, and the final product with a bite taken out of it, but not one, single picture of the actual falafel. If you don’t know me very well, know that it’s not surprising. I have a little attention problem sometimes (and I was so, so hungry)!

If you are looking for tradition here, I’m not sure you’ll find it. I don’t know a lot about falafel, and am pretty sure I’ve only had it when I’ve made it (never at a restaurant). It’s super easy to make, and makes for a yummy and filling dinner.

Falafel

  • 3 cans chickpeas
  • 3-5 green onions, coarsley chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, coarsley chopped
  • 3 tsp ground cumin
  • 3 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/2 c chopped cilantro
  • 2 eggs
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • Salt to taste (I used around 1 tsp and wished I had added a little more)
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 2/3 c flour
  • Vegetable or canola oil, for frying

Combine the chickpeas through lemon juice in a food processor and pulse to combine. You want it to be relatively smooth with a few chunks. Either add in the flour and baking powder and pulse to combine, or transfer the mixture to a bowl and stir the flour and baking powder in with a spoon. (This is what I did since my food processor was too full at this point!). Chill in the refrigerator for about an hour.

After the mixture is chilled, put your oil in a large pan or pot and heat to 360 degrees. Using a little flour, if needed, form golf ball sized portions of the chickpea mixture into slightly flattened rounds, like a patty. Fry for 3-4 minutes until browned, and drain on paper towels.

IMG_3111

For serving, I put ours in pitas with tomato, cabbage, cucumber, and tzatziki sauce. Traditionally, I believe you should serve these with hummus, but I really enjoyed them this way!

IMG_3128

The best part about this is that it made around 15 patties, so I put 10 of them in the freezer! My plan is to slightly thaw them, then bake in the oven at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes. I’m really looking forward to having a super easy dinner one next in the coming weeks!

Source: Slightly adapted from Melissa d’Arabian

xo

One thought on “Simple Falafel

Leave a Reply

