Quinoa Cakes with Eggs

This may seem rather similar to the quinoa “patties” I last posted, but they are definitely not!  First, you need to look at the source to see how beautiful these babies are, as mine turned out much less so (I would go as far as saying they are ugly).

I learned that my husband had not had a poached egg before this meal (or so he says).  Poached eggs are the best, so I was sad to learn I hadn’t made one for him before!  It was a little tedious, as I had to poach 4 eggs before I was able to sit down and eat, but it’s worth it to have the gooey yolk cover the quinoa cake!  (And if you hate the idea of that, just fry the egg!)

I actually followed the advice of a commenter on this recipe and baked the cakes in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes and was pleased with how they turned out.  The only issue I had is that they didn’t hold together very well when I formed them into patties, which I think was due to not enough egg.  The problem with fresh eggs is that they are smaller than large store-bought eggs, but not enough smaller to warrant using an extra one.  Next time I would probably add a splash of milk, just to help them hold together a little more.

Lately I have been LOVING quinoa and bulgur, and can’t wait to share more recipes utilizing these nutritious grains.  This week I plan to try a chili where I replace the ground beef with bulgur, hopefully it turns out delicious!

Quinoa Cakes with Poached Eggs

Source: http://annies-eats.com/2011/12/05/quinoa-cakes-with-poached-eggs/

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa, at room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • ½ tsp. coarse salt
  • 1/3 cup minced fresh chives, plus more for garnish
  • 2 large shallots, finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ cup whole grain bread crumbs, plus more if needed
  • Olive oil, for frying patties
  • (for serving) Shaved Parmesan
  • (for serving) 6 poached eggs (one for each patty)
  • (for serving) Salt and pepper
In a medium bowl, combine the quinoa, eggs, salt, chives, shallots, Parmesan and garlic.  Stir to blend.  Mix in the bread crumbs and stir gently until thoroughly mixed, then form into 5-6 patties (I made 5).  Heat a bit of olive oil in a saute pan over medium-high heat (alternatively, bake in 400 degree oven for about 15 minutes).  Add the patties to the pan and cook about 4 minutes before flipping and cooking for 4 minutes more (both sides should be lightly browned).  Repeat with remaining patties.  Top each patty with a bit of shaved Parmesan, a poached egg, and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

