Quinoa Veggie “Patties”

First, I have to be honest that the absolute best part of this meal, was this:

I mean these were good, but a cocktail with fresh lemons delivered to you from California can’t be beat.  Now that we have that out of the way… These were originally called burgers, but I ate them on a piece of toast, disqualifying them from the burger category!

I just love finding new simple dinner ideas, especially vegetarian ones!  I’m not a health freak by any means, but vegetarian dinners are cheaper, and almost always easier, so I’m not complaining.

I find that most meatless meals are ones I make when I’m alone, as I know my husband prefers something with beef, pork, chicken, etc.  He did have a leftover patty the next day, and thought it was pretty good, but I know it wouldn’t have been enough for him as a dinner.

Loaded Quinoa Veggie Burgers

Source: http://www.canyoustayfordinner.com/2012/01/04/loaded-quinoa-veggie-burgers/

  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 4 scallions, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 15 ounces can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup Italian seasoned dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

In a small pot, bring 3/4 cup water to a boil. Add quinoa, cover, and reduce heat to low. Cook until liquid is absorbed, 12 to 14 minutes; set aside.

In a food processor, pulse carrot until finely chopped. Add cooked quinoa, scallions, garlic, beans, breadcrumbs, egg, cumin, salt, and pepper; pulse until combined but still slightly chunky.

Form mixture into four patties. In a large nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium; cook burgers until browned, about 8 minutes per side.

serves 4

Hi punky!

Leave a Reply

