Hearty Frittata

Now that we have 4 chickens laying, we have a LOT of eggs!  I think when I got home from work today we had at least 20, so something had to be done.  

Kyle bought an issue of Clean Eating Magazine as a stocking stuffer for me, and there are tons of recipes in there that look good, this frittata being one of them.  While I’m not super concerned with “clean” eating, I do like dinners that are low in calories and fat, that way I can have snacks before and dessert after without blowing the whole day. 🙂

Image

I finally read the recipe through and realized I didn’t know what a frittata was… I assumed it was quiche, but its actually cooked completely in the pan, which is even better!

You start by sauteing the sausage and vegetables, then pour the egg/ricotta mixture over the top, put a lid on it, and wait.  I am a little creeped out by undercooked egg whites, and considering this is 75% whites, I let it cook a little longer than the recommended 7 minutes, as well as broiling it a little before adding the cheese.  

Image

 

Hearty Sausage and Cheese Frittata

  • Cooking spray
  • 10 oz low-fat chicken or turkey sausage (about 3 links, I recommend the spicy chicken sausage from Safeway’s meat department, it available), casings removed
  • 1 1/2 cups broccoli florets
  • 1/2 c red or green bell peppers, diced
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 6 egg whites
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c low-fat ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 c grated low-fat cheddar cheese
Heat ovenproof, non-stick skillet on medium-high heat and mist with cooking spray.  Add sausage, broccoli, pepper and onions and cook, breaking up sausage with spook until crumbled and no longer pink.
Sidenote: I find chicken sausage impossible to break up, so I cooked it first, then added my veggies.
 
Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk egg whites, eggs and ricotta until foamy and just a few lumps remain.  Pour over top of sausage mixture, cover, and reduce heat to medium until bottom and sides are firm and top is almost set, about 7 minutes.  (Um, no.  In my world we cook it until the top is completely set, then move on.)
 
Preheat broiler to high.  Uncover skillet and sprinkle cheese on top, broiling until center is set and cheese is melted, about 3 minutes.  Slice in pan or invert onto cutting board (I wish I had read that before, getting it out of the pan was obnoxious).

 

ImageEnjoy!

2 thoughts on “Hearty Frittata

Leave a Reply

