Orangettes

I’ve had my eye on Smitten Kitchen’s orangette recipe for years, and was so excited to finally give it a try last night!  I read all the comments to make sure I wasn’t missing anything, but I still ended up with somewhat of a failure.

All you have to do to get started is peel and orange and cut the peel into thin pieces, and blanch the peels 2-3 times (I did 3).  This is to get rid of the bitterness and probably helps to open the “pores” for the next step.

After each blanching, you just rinse the peels and stick in a fresh pot of boiling water.  Now they are ready for the candying part… being simmered in simple syrup for 1 hour!  Here is where it all went downhill for me.

I made a double batch of the syrup, so 2 cups water and 2 cups sugar, got it up to a simmer, put my orange peels in and set the timer.  Everything looked good up to 50 minutes in, but when I came back with 4 minutes left, I had the most beautiful orange flavored caramel ever.  Unfortunately, the peels that came out of that were encased in this caramel, which turned into jawbreaker strength caramel after about 2 seconds.  The next step was supposed to be dipping them in chocolate, but I don’t want to pay for anyone’s dental work, so we’ll have to try this again.

I’m hopeful that next time with a lower simmering heat, and maybe adding a few tablespoons of water the last 30 minutes, will equal some beautiful, pliable, candied orange peels!

 

Leave a Reply

