Margaritas

The weather in the pacific NW has beeen absolutely BEAUTIFUL this week, and the forecast only shows continued sunny skies, which is so exciting!  While I love the warm weather, it is not something we got a lot around here, so I often try to find ways to cool down.  One such way was with margaritas over the 4th of July weekend!  I was browsing online and found a jalapeno cucumber margarita, and knew I had to try it. 

I love, love, LOVE spicy food!  A few summers ago I discovered how great Corona Lights are with a pepper instead of a lime, so there didn’t seem to be any reason to think a margarita wouldn’t be just as delicious… and I was right.  Kyle hated it, but to be fair, I’m not sure he has ever thought a margarita tasted good.

The recipe does indicate that the margarita should sit for at least 1 hour for the flavors to develop, and I would agree that this is very important!  Make sure to make it enough in advance to let this happen.

Jalapeno-Cucumber Margaritas (from Confections of a Foodie Bride, inspired by Chef Tim Love)

  • 1/2 cup tequila
  • 1/4 cup orange liqueur
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup simple syrup (equal parts water and sugar)
  • 4 thin slices cucumber
  • 4 thin slices jalapenos
  1. Combine all ingredients in a pitcher (I just used a mason jar)
  2. Chill for at least an hour
  3. Serve over ice (I also added a splash of club soda, since I had it, just to lighten it up a bit)

I am home alone on a sunny Friday night, and was trying to make my pictures look old with Photoshop… but I have no idea what I’m doing, so this is what I got. 🙂  I think it may be time to whip up a batch of these margaritas, you should too!

Hi Ollie!  Look at those modeling skills!

 

Leave a Reply

