Parmesan Cake

Yes, a savory cake.  I can’t lie that I felt kind of fancy making this… I mean have you ever made a cake with vegetables in it?  Me neither.

I found this recipe on my absolute most favorite website/food blog ever, smittenkitchen.com.  One day I dream of meeting the site’s author, Deb; she is super funny, has the cutest child I’ve ever seen, and posts awesome recipes!  I’m pretty sure I have liked every single thing I’ve made from her site.  Hopefully I don’t sound like a stalker…

Anyways, I’ve discovered a newfound love for cauliflower, especially roasted, and was looking for new ways to cook it, when I found this recipe.  I feel like it’s very similar to keish, but with flour to make it more “cakey”.  While the husband would’ve probably preferred a dinner using meat, I thought this was fantastic, and will definitely make it again!

Cauliflower Cake

1 medium cauliflower
1 large red onion, peeled
7 1/2 tablespoons olive oil (Deb used 5… and I did too)
1/2 teaspoon finely chopped rosemary (I used dried)
10 medium or 8 large eggs
Scant 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
2 cups finely grated parmesan cheese or about 1 generous cup of grated Romano cheese
Salt and black pepper
Butter, for greasing pan
2 tablespoons black sesame seeds (I forgot to line my pan with these and was devastated.  Please, don’t forget this.  It’s so much prettier!)

Preheat oven to 400°F. Break cauliflower into medium florets and toss in 2 tbs oil.  Spread onto baking sheet and roast until beginning to brown (15-20 minutes).  (Smitten Kitchen recommends boiling the cauliflower, but last time this made my house stink for a week, so I will stick with the roasting approach.)

“Meanwhile, prepare the batter. Halve your red onion and cut a few thin rings off the end of one side; set them aside. Coarsely chop the remainder of your onion. Heat all of your olive oil in a saucepan and saute the chopped red onion and rosemary together until soft, about 8 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool.

Whisk eggs and olive oil and onion mixture together. Whisk flour, baking powder, turmeric, cheese, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt  and many, many grinds of black pepper together in a separate bowl and add to egg mixture, whisking to remove lumps. Stir in cauliflower gently, so most pieces remain intact.

Line the bottom of a 9-inch (24cm) round springform pan with parchment paper. Butter the sides generously. Put the sesame seeds in the pan and toss them around so that they stick to the sides. Pour in the cauliflower batter, arrange the reserved onion rings on top and bake cake in the center of the oven for 45 minutes, until golden brown and set.

Serve warm or at room temperature. Before you serve the cake, be sure to run a knife around the pan.”

Don’t forget to check out Smittenkitchen.com too for other great recipes!  (No, I’m not paid to tell you this, that is just how much I love it.)

One thought on “Parmesan Cake

  1. Pingback: Oodles of eggs | Chasing Capers

Leave a Reply

