Crispy Orange Beef

Again, no picture, but still a recipe worth sharing!  I made this just two nights ago and am still sad that there weren’t any leftovers (someone was a little hungry at dinner time…).  I love trying new dishes, and lately the majority of those have been Asian; stir frys, burgers, salads, etc.  This dish was definitely sweet (I recommend cutting back on the sugar and will reflect that below) but with the broccoli and rice, and lots of sriracha, it was delicious!  I also doubled the sauce, as lots of reviewers recommended, and would highly recommend you do the same!  The biggest change I would recommend for this though is to completely skip the frying!  The majority of my cooking time was spent frying the beef in batches, and while it was good, I think the sauce is thick enough to coat the beef regardless of how it is cooked.  Next time I think I will give it a good sear in a cast iron skillet (I know, not exactly Asian-inspired anymore) and let it rest while finishing the other parts.

Crispy Orange Beef

1 1/2 lb beef top sirloin, thinly sliced
2-3 tbs white sugar (updated 6/13/11)
1/3 c rice wine vinegar
2 tbsp frozen orange juice concentrate
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 c long grain rice
2 c water
1/4 c cornstarch
2 tsp orange zest (I didn’t have this, but am sure it would be great!)
3 tbsp grated fresh ginger
1 1/2 tbsp minced garlic
8 broccoli florets, lightly steamed or blanched
2 c oil for frying

Lay the beef strips on a baking sheet in a single layer and allow to dry in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.  In a small bowl, mix the sugar, rice vinegar, orange juice concentrate, salt and soy sauce.  Set aside. (This is the part I recommend doubling!)

Cook the rice according to the package directions.

Heat the oil in a wok over medium-high heat.  Toss the beef in the cornstarch to coat and fry in small batches until crispy and golden brown; set aside.  Drain all but 1 tbs oil from the wok.  (PS- I used this oil the same night to make dog treats for my puppy, and he LOVED them!)

Add the zest, ginger and garlic to the remaining oil and cook until fragrant (30-60 seconds).  Add the soy sauce mixture to the wok, bring to a boil, and cook until thick and syrupy, about 5 minutes.  Add the beef and heat through, stirring to coat.  Serve immediately over rice with the steamed broccoli.

Leave a Reply

