Shrimp Salad

My lovely friend Carri was just telling me about a shrimp salad she made over the weekend, not knowing that I was looking for some inspiration for dinner salads this week!  Wa la, shrimp salad.  I went with a dressing from Cook’s Illustrated, and a marinade for the shrimp we had used before, and I really think it came out fantastic.  In fact, I can’t wait for lunch tomorrow (which will be 7 hours after waking up early to work out, why on earth am I doing that?) to have it again, although cold this time.

Can you believe these peppers?  While I’m irritated that my picture came out blurry (I honestly have the worst camera e.v.e.r.) the colors are so insane as these peppers are so fresh!  It’s just a bag of mini bell peppers from Costco (you should go get some now, they are incredibly cheap) but man, were they good.

Shrimp Marinade

Chili garlic sauce (found in the asian section of most grocery stores)
Olive oil
3ish cloves garlic, coarsley chopped
Small palmful chopped cilantro

So I don’t really believe in measuring when it comes to marinades… so I didn’t.  I honestly think you can throw just about anything in and it’ll turn out fantastic, especially with shrimp.  (Well, as long as you’re not putting something acidic like lemon juice in it and letting it sit.)  I had the shrimp sitting in this for about 5 minutes, and as I skewered them, just made sure to slather what was left in the bowl on them before grilling.

While the shrimp marinated, I cut up the peppers, as seen above, and some very thinly sliced red onion.  While the shrimp were grilling, I also threw some sesame seeds into a pan for a quick toast, which I really think was awesome.  The vinaigrette actually called for the seeds to be mixed in, but I thought toasting them would be way better.  Obviously I can’t be subjective about that since I didn’t try both, so you’ll just have to trust me!

Sweet Sesame-Soy Vinaigrette (I love you Cook’s Illustrated)

1/3 c rice vinegar
2 1/2 tbs soy sauce
1/4 c light brown sugar
1/2 tsp fresh grated ginger
2 tsp Asian chili garlic paste
1 tbs toasted sesame oil2
1/2 c vegetable oil
2 tsp sesame seeds, toasted (which I just sprinkled on the salad instead of mixing in)

So there you have it.  A quick toss of the greens in the vinaigrette topped with your onions, peppers, sesame seeds and cooked shrimp and you’re done!  This took me a little longer, as I’m the moron that purchases uncleaned shrimp (well, on accident), but if not for that, I think you’re definitely looking at a 30 minute meal (at the most!).

Enjoy! (and thanks Carri!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

