Ginger fried rice

Let me just start out by saying that I loved this so much, I made it two nights in a row!  And I’m not talking about leftovers.  I went to the store the day after to buy more leeks and made the entire thing over again.  This isn’t fried rice in the way I thought of it, with egg pieces in it, but a wonderful, delicious variation.

And to be honest, this was just last week, and I’ve already went to the store for more leeks so we can have it again this week.  I’m a bit of an obsessive eater. 🙂

Ginger Fried Rice

  • 1/2 cup peanut oil
  • 2 tbs minced garlic
  • 2 tbs minced ginger
  • Salt
  • 2 c thinly sliced leeks, white and light green parts only
  • 4 c rice (it called for jasmine, I used plain old white rice… it also said day-old, but I used fresh)
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 tsp sesame oil (I put diced thai peppers in mine to make it spicy, then strained before using)
  • 4 tsp soy sauce

         

In a large skillet, heat 1/4 cup oil over medium heat. Add garlic and ginger and cook, stirring occasionally, until crisp and brown. With a slotted spoon, transfer to paper towels and salt lightly.

Raise heat to medium and add rice. Cook, stirring well, until heated through. I cooked mine for quite a while to really fry/brown it up.  Season to taste with salt.

In a nonstick skillet (it just makes it easier) fry eggs in remaining oil, sunny-side-up, until edges are set but yolk is still runny.

Divide rice among four dishes. Top each with an egg and drizzle with 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil and 1 teaspoon soy sauce. Sprinkle crisped garlic and ginger over everything and serve.

Seriously, you won’t regret making this.  And just so you know, the blog this is from (smittenkitchen.com) is the best blog/site out there!  I check it every day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

