Chocolate chip cookies

So one of the biggest struggles for me has been finding a good cookie recipe that doesn’t melt into a pancake before its cooked!  Obviously this can relate to oven temperature or using melted butter instead of softened, but I think I’m just cursed.  Luckily, other people feel the same way, and I finally found a recipe that didn’t use butter, but butter flavored Crisco… and it did the trick!  No more flat, crunchy cookies that I was embarassed to feed people.

It sounds weird, right?  I think when I tell people this they automatically assume it’ll be horrible, but I promise its not.  One thing I do differently though is that I actually add the salt to this recipe, and usually in baking I leave it out.  The Crisco really doesn’t have the same flavor as butter, so salt is needed to really enhance it and make it taste like a normal cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup butter flavored shortening
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt (seriously, add it)
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease your cookie sheets.

Combine the shortening, brown sugar and white sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time, beating well with each addition, then stir in the vanilla.  Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt and gradually stir into the creamed mixture.  Finally, fold in the chocolate chips and drop rounded spoonfulls onto the prepared cookie sheets.

Bake for 8-10 minutes until light brown.

Leave a Reply

