Thai Chicken Quinoa

I love quinoa. I may have mentioned this before, but my fall back dinner plan is always quinoa mixed with black beans, cilantro, garlic, chili powder, and lime, topped with an overeasy egg. It is the simplest of dinners, and super filling!

The quinoa I buy is from Costco, so of course I have 5 pounds of it and do try to plan meals using it so it’s not sitting around forever. The most recent one I saw was this Thai Chicken Quinoa, and I seriously made it the day I saw it. Do recipes sometimes speak to you? Or am I crazy? This recipe spoke to me. I knew, without a doubt, that I would love it! Hopefully you get a chance to try it out soon. As you’ll see, I decided to top mine with some avocado and sriracha, which made it even more delicious.

On another note, I really shouldn’t be taking pictures of food before I eat. Almost every meal I photograph is steaming hot, and I am so hungry that I don’t even look to see if I managed to get a semi-decent picture before digging in. Nope, no lack of self control here!

Thai Chicken Quinoa final

 

Thai Chicken Quinoa from How Sweet It Is

  • 1/2 c uncooked quinoa, rinsed (Yep, I’m lazy and never rinse it, which is bad!)
  • 1-2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
  • 1/3 c chopped carrots
  • 1/3 c shelled edamame (I didn’t have any so had to skip it, so sad!)
  • 1/3 c chopped green onions
  • 1/4 c chopped peanuts
  • 1/4 c chopped cilantro

Sauce

  • 2 tbs sweet chili sauce
  • 1 tbs rice vinegar
  • 1 tbs canned coconut milk
  • 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tsp creamy peanut butter,slightly melted
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • Juice from 1/2 lime
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger

 

Prepare quinoa according to the package directions (using water or broth). While it cooks, combine all the sauce ingredients in a bowl and whisk together.

Once the quinoa is cooked, toss with the sauce and stir well to evenly distribute. Add the chicken, carrots, edamame, and green onions, stirring to combine. Season with some salt and pepper, then add in half of the peanuts and cilantro. Top each serving with some of the remaining peanuts and cilantro, and eat up!

 

xo

5 thoughts on “Thai Chicken Quinoa

    • I didn’t name the recipe, but I’m assuming it is because of the sauce being similar to ones you would see in peanut chicken recipes. But I’m not positive! :) Would you mind sharing how you eat quinoa traditionally if not in savory dishes? I would love to know!

      • Haha…so easy you boiled quinoa with water and palm sugar or granulated sugar and pour mixture of coconut cream mix with salt over it. That’s the only recipe I know in Thai cooking that use quinoa. Thai people only use quinoa to feed the birds or may be ther animals…silly isn’t it. It’s not a popular kind of grain over there at all.

        I will ask the origin of the recipe. I’m just curious about how people seeing Thai cuisine, didn’t mean to insult your cooking or anything. I’m sure the salad comes out great with all the yummy stuff you put in there…Thanks for answer!

        There is a recipe of Thai cellophane noodle salad on my blog, if you interested. (Totally different than this quinoa one)

Leave a Reply

