These doughnuts

Guys, these doughnuts were amazing. Don’t judge them based on my crappy phone photo. I’m not honestly even sure how I stopped myself from eating six or seven in a row!

Baked doughnuts obviously have a different texture than fried doughnuts, but I wouldn’t argue that one is better than the other. I have found so many good recipes for baked doughnuts that I don’t really prefer one over the other, it just needs to taste good!

photo (5)

My favorite aspect of these is the espresso powder, added in both the doughnut itself and the glaze. It was absolutely perfect alongside a cup of coffee for breakfast! Make them soon. :)

Baked Espresso Glazed Doughnuts
Source: Shutterbean

makes 12-16 doughnuts, my pan made 16 with filling each “hole” about 3/4 full

Doughnuts

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 c unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons espresso powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c buttermilk
  • 1 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Glaze

  • 2 tsp espresso powder
  • 2 tbs hot water
  • 6 oz melted cream cheese
  • 2 c powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 4-6 tbs milk
  • sprinkles (optional, but not really)

Heat your oven to 325 F and spray your doughnut pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Whisk together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, espresso powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, mix the buttermilk, sugar, egg, oil and vanilla, then add to the flour mixture and stir until thoroughly mixed.

At this point you can either put the batter in a plastic bag, and cut one of the corners so you can squeeze the batter into the pan, or carefully use a spoon. I put the batter in a bag, but often I just use a spoon so save myself the hassle of transferring it. :)

Bake the doughnuts for 10-12 minutes (mine took 12, you want a little “spring back” when you touch them when they’re done). Cool in the pan for 3 minutes, then remove and cool completely on a rack.

While they cool, mix all the glaze ingredients (using more or less milk depending on the consistency). Once the doughnuts are cooled, dip one side in the glaze and set back on the wire rack, then top with sprinkles. The doughnuts will last 3 days in an airtight container… but they won’t once you taste them!

Don’t own a doughnut pan? Here is the one I own! $9 well, well spent!

3 thoughts on “These doughnuts

  1. I might be purchasing a donut pan soon. I wasn’t sure that baked could be anywhere near as good as fried, but you’ve convinced me!

    You should check out the Camera+ app. I think it’s $.99, but it will seriously make your photos look like they were taken with a decent camera.

  2. Pingback: I love lists, Friday – Shutterbean

Leave a Reply

